PROGRAM

Ninth Annual Meeting

NATIONAL READING CONFERENCE

for

COLLEGES AND ADULTS

December 3-5, 1959

Texas Christian University

December 3 Registration Cloister, Religious Center. Registration Fee \$3.00 9:00 A.M. Exhibits. First General Session, Room 206, North Wing, Religion Center 10:45 A.M. Chairman: Dr. Ernest A. Jones, Central State College, Oklahoma 12:15 P.M. Invocation. "Starting College and Adult Reading Programs" Discussion Leaders: Dr. Paul Berg, University of South Carolina Dr. Ralph Staiger, Mississippi Southern College Dr. William Eller, State University of Iowa 1:45 P.M. Second General Session, Weatherly Hall, Religion Center Chairman: Dr. Arthur Heilman, University of Oklahoma "How Not to Teach Vocabulary" Dr. William Eller, State University of Iowa "Teaching Vocabulary to Mature Students" Dr. Carl Singleton, World Book Company Coffee "Recent Research in Reading at Purdue University" Mr. Bernard I. Schmidt No general session scheduled for Thursday evening. 7:45 P.M. Informal discussion in Texas Christian University Reading Laboratory, Bailey Building, Room 301. Chairman: Mr. Joseph A. Fisher, State University of Iowa "Materials, Techniques, Procedures" December 4 Third General Session, Weatherly Hall 9:15 A.M. Chairman: Dr. Roger S. Pepper, Wayne University "Evaluation of Eye Movement Photography in Reading Diagnosis and Reading Training" Dr. George D. Spache, University of Florida "Research in Reading at University of Michigan" Mr. John E. Valusek, Western State College Group Sessions — Bailey Building Group 1 Room 201 Chairman: Mr. Louie E. Harris, Oklahoma State College for 11:00 A.M. Women "Improving Reading in the Subject Matter Areas"
Dr. Homer L. J. Carter, Discussion Leader, Western Michto 12:30 P.M. igan University Discussants: Dr. William J. Chapaitis, Colorado School of Mines Dr. Herbert Schulze, Northwestern State College Dr. R. Keith Woods, Wisconsin State College Mrs. Ailene B. Thompson, Florida State University Group 2 Chairman: Mrs. Dorothy Bracken, Southern Methodist University Room 307 "Integrating the Reading Program Into the Curricula" Dr. Albert J. Kingston, Discussion Leader, University of Georgia Discussants:

Dr. Leslie P. Evans, Texas Christian University

Dr. J. Wesley Schnever, University of Pennsylvania

Group 3 Chairman: Dr. John Michel, University of Texas "Similarities and Differences in College and Adult Reading Room 301 Programs" Dr. Dale Bryant, Discussion Leader, University of Houston Discussants: Mrs. Joy Kovar, Graduate School, U. S. Dept. of Agriculture Dr. Emery P. Bliesmer, University of Virginia Dr. Thomson L. Leiper, University of Pittsburgh Group 4 Chairman: Dr. Maurice D. Woolf, Kansas State College Room 113 "Evaluation of Reading Tests" Mrs. Herbert A. Ketcham, Discussion Leader, Lafayette College Discussants: Dr. Arthur McDonald, Marquette University Mr. Harold Love, Francis T. Nicholls State College Dr. A. J. Pellettieri, St. Thomas University Group 5 Chairman: Dr. Alton L. Raygor, University of Minnesota Room 310 "Counseling in the Reading Program" Discussants: Dr. Warren Fontenberry, Florida State University Mr. Stanton P. Thalberg, Humboldt State College 1:45 P.M. Fourth General Session, Weatherly Hall Chairman: Dr. Thomson L. Leiper, University of Pittsburgh "Testing of Different Length Passages"
Dr. Arthur McDonald, Marquette University "Review of Recent Research" Dr. Emery P. Bliesmer, University of Virginia 7:00 P.M. Fifth General Session. Dinner Meeting. Weatherly Hall Chairman: Dr Ralph Staiger, Mississippi Southern College "Across the Editor's Desk" Dr. George B. Schick, Purdue University

December 5 Sixth General Session, Weatherly Hall 9:00 A.M. Chairman: Dr. S. B. Sell, Texas Christian University "Studies of Student Readers and Their Implications for College Instruction"

Dr. Walter Hill, University of Oregon

Coffee

Symposium: "Measurement in Reading" Dr. Albert J. Kingston, University of Georgia Dr. J. B. Stroud, State University of Iowa Dr. Donald E. P. Smith, University of Michigan

HOST COMMITTEE

Dr. Karl Snyder

Dr. Henry Key

Dean Larry Smith

Dr. L. P. Evans Dr. O. H. Williams

Dean Herbert LaGrone

Miss Clotilda Winter

Dr. Lawrence Hanley

Dr. Margaret Rouse

Mr. Curtis Firkins

Mr. Jerome Kerby

Texas Christian University

Emery P. Bliesmer University of Virginia William Eller State University of Iowa Albert J. Kingston University of Georgia Henry P. Smith University of Kansas Ralph S. Staiger Mississippi Southern College Oscar S. Causey, Chairman,

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE