Albert J. Kingston Award

History of the Award


The Albert J. Kingston Service Award is given to honor an LRA member for distinguished contributions of service to LRA. The Albert J. Kingston Award has been presented annually since 1985.

Criteria for Consideration


Eligibility for the Albert J. Kingston Award is limited to LRA members who have provided distinguished service contributions to LRA.

Procedures for Nomination


Those nominating an individual for the Albert J. Kingston Award are asked to submit one copy of the nominee’s current curriculum vita and a letter nominating the individual that describes the service contributions made to LRA. Nominees must have belonged to LRA for at least 5 years. Any LRA member may nominate deserving candidates for recognition of their work. Nominations should be submitted electronically via e-mail to the Chair before August 15th.

Review Process


Electronic copies of each nominee’s curriculum vita and nomination letter are sent to members of the Award Committee. Committee members rank each nominee in order from highest to lowest according to the stated criteria of substantial and significant contributions of service to LRA and the breadth, depth, and length of contributions to LRA. The chair averages these rankings, and the recipient is selected according to the person receiving the highest average ranking. This process is completed by September 15th of each year. The recipient is notified as soon as possible (no later than October 1) so that they might attend the conference to receive the award. The recipient of the Albert J. Kingston Award will receive a plaque and a lifetime membership in LRA.

Award Committee

Sharon Walpole

Chair, (2022 – 2025)

Zoi A. Traga Philippakos

Committee Member, (2022 – 2025)

Rachel Karchmer

Committee Member, (2021 – 2024)

Dara Hill

Committee Member, (2022 – 2023)

Jamie Colwell

Committee Member, (2022 – 2025)

Toni Williams

Committee Member, (2021 – 2024)

Susan Cantrell

Committee Member, (2023 – 2026)

Crystal Wise

Committee Member, (2023 – 2026)

Award Winners

Amy Hutchison (2023)

Janice Almasi (2021)

Rachel Karchmer-Klein (2020)

Patricia Enciso (2019)

Virginia Goatley (2018)

Eurydice Bauer (2017)

Fenice Boyd (2016)

Kathleen Hinchman (2015)

David Reinking (2014)

Norm Stahl (2013)

Patricia A. Edwards (2012)

Marla H. Mallette (2011)

Susan L’Allier (2010)

Cathy Roller (2009)

Diane Barone (2009)

P. David Pearson (2008)

John McEneaney (2007)

Michael McKenna (2006)

Douglas Hartman (2006)

Colin Harrison (2005)

Peter Mosenthal (2004)

Martha Ruddell (2003)

Jim Hoffman (2002)

Linda Gambrell (2001)

Lee Gunderson (2000)

Lea McGee (1999)

Ronald P. Carver (1998)

Donna E. Alvermann (1997)

Richard Robinson (1996)

John E. Readence (1995)

Jerome A. Niles (1994)

Jerome C. Harste (1993)

Patricia L. Anders (1992)

Edward B. Fry (1991)

Trika Smith-Burke (1990)

Michael L. Kamil (1989)

Thomas H. Estes (1988)

Frank Greene (1987)

Irene Athey (1986)

Harry Singer (1985)