Early Career Achievement Award

History of the Award


The Early Career Achievement Award was established in 1999 to recognize the work of one member each year who is in the early part of her or his career.

Criteria for Consideration

To be eligible for consideration for the Award, an individual must:

• Have been a member of LRA for at least three (but not necessarily consecutive) years; and

• Have graduated with a doctoral degree no more than seven years from the date of nomination.

Each year a call and deadline (May 15th) for nominations are announced in the LRA spring newsletter and on the listserv. Eligible members may either self-nominate or be nominated by another LRA member. Nominations are in the form of a letter describing the nominee’s qualifications for the Award, with priority given to the nominee’s achievements in: 1) research; 2) publication and impact of contributions to the field; 3) service; and 4) teaching. Letters may be sent either by mail or electronically to the committee chair.

All nominated members who meet the eligibility requirement will be contacted by the committee chair in May and asked to submit:

• A letter of support from their home institutions;

• A current curriculum vita, including all publications, degrees, honors and awards, and service on editorial boards of research journals; and

• A written statement by the nominee that describes their professional growth and research agenda.

Review Process


Submitted materials for each nominee will be reviewed and voted upon by all committee members. Nominees are notified of their status in mid-August, and the Award is presented publicly at the annual conference of LRA. Awardees receive $500 and an engraved plaque.

Award Committee

Kristin Conradi


Chair, (2021-2024)

Leah Saal
Committee Member, (2021-2024)

Kathryn Roberts


Committee Member, (2021 – 2024)

Virginia Killian Lund
Committee Member, (2022-2025)

Abdulsamad Humaidan


Committee Member, (2022 – 2025)

Susan Bennett


Committee Member, (2023 – 2026)

Colleen Whittingham


Committee Member, (2023 – 2026)

Award Winners

Emily Machado (2023)

T. Philip Nichols (2022)

Jon Wargo (2021)
Cati V. de los Rios (2020)

Zoi A. Traga Philippakos (2019)

Antero Garcia (2018)

Amy Wilson Lopez (2017)

Tisha Lewis Ellison (2016)

Steven J. Amendum (2015)

Amy Hutchison (2014)

Allison Skerrett (2013)

Kristen H. Perry (2012)

Julie Coiro (2011)

Leigh A. Hall (2010)

Misty Sailors (2009)

Nancy Frey (2008)

Sharon Walpole (2007)

Beth Maloch (2006)

Melanie Kuhn (2005)

Rebecca Rogers (2004)

Nell Duke (2003)

George KamberElis (2002)

Lawrence R. Sipe (2001)

Elizabeth Birr Moje (2000)

Joyce Many (1999)

Cindy Brock (1999)