Innovative Community Groups

Doctoral Students
Formative Experiments &
Design-Based Research
History
International
Multilingual/
Transnational
Reading Clinic/
Literacy Labs

Doctoral-Students

Purpose

  • • To support the professional growth of doctoral students who are members of the Literacy Research Association.
  • • The ICG will communicate the interests and concerns of doctoral students by acting as a liaison between the Executive Board and the Doctoral Students’ ICG membership.
  • • The goal of the ICG will be to encourage the active participation of doctoral students in the Literacy Research Association

Members

Sr. Co-Chair
Tairan Qiu

University of Georgia
tqiu19@uga.edu

Jr. Co-Chair
Reka Barton

San Diego State University
rbarton2@sdsu.edu

Asst. Co-Chair
Alex Corbitt

Boston College
corbitta@bc.edu

LRA Board Liaison
Cynthia Brock

University of Wyoming
cynthia.brock@uwyo.edu

Alumni Liaison
Lakeya Omogun

University of Texas at Austin
lomogun@utexas.edu

Committee Members: Conference Coordinators

Sr. Conference Coordinator
Scott Storm

New York University
scott.storm@nyu.edu

Jr. Conference Coordinator
Marisa Segel

Boston College
segelm@bc.edu

Committee Members: Newsletter Editing Team

Olivia Murphy
University of Maryland, College Park
oamurph@gmail.com

Hayley Hoover
Clemson University
hayleyh@g.clemson.edu

Alexandra Lampp Berglundy
The University of Georgia
alampp@uga.edu

Committee Members: Newsletter Writers

Liz Gibbs
Judson University
twnz1998@gmail.com

Marcie Stutzman
Salisbury University
mstutzman1@gulls.salisbury.edu

Huan Gao
University of Florida
huan.gao@ufl.edu

Sarah Fennelly
St. John’s University
sarahfennelly92@gmail.com

Committee Members: DSICG Technology Committee

Tracy Donohue
Michigan State University
donohu41@msu.edu

Emily Mannard
McGill University
emily.mannard@mail.mcgill.ca

Mary Rose
O’Shea University of Illinois at Chicago
moshea@uic.edu

Committee Members: Historian

Melissa Benson
University of Kentucky
melissa.benson@uky.edu

Committee Members: Treasurers

Andrew Vardas-Doane
George Mason University
doaneandrew@gmail.com

Emily Mannard
McGill University
emily.mannard@mail.mcgill.ca

Formative Experiments & Design-Based Research

Purpose

  • • To serve the needs and promote the interests of LRA members invested informative experiments (FE) and design-based research (DBR) as a methodological approach to literacy research.
  • • To create a supportive, dialogic community of researchers confronting problems, issues, and challenges related to this approach and who wish to share their successes and failures, thus increasing collective wisdom and developing a network of resources.
  • • To clarify the parameters of this approach toward developing useful frameworks for conceptualizing, planning, conducting, and reporting FE and DBR. To develop and promote standards of rigor for designing FE and DBR and in collecting and analyzing data.
  • • To promote discussions about the fundamental purposes of literacy research, particularly the relation between research, practice, and the enhancement of human well-being.

Members

Chair - 2019 - 2021
Emily Howell

Clemson University
esmothe@clemson.edu

Chair-Elect - 2019 - 2022
Ryan McCarty

National Louis University
rmccarty@nl.edu

Liaison - 2019 - 2022
Gina Cervetti

University of Michigan
cervetti@umich.edu

Committee Members

Megan Adams
madam104@kennesaw.edu
(2014 - 2021)

Barbara Bradley
barbarab@ku.edu
(2014 - 2021)

Jamie Colwell
jcolwell@odu.edu
(2014 - 2021)

Michael Manderino
mmanderino@niu.edu
(2014 - 2021)

David Reinking
reinkin@clemson.edu
(2014 - 2021)

Jennifer Schneider
jschneid@usf.edu
(2014 - 2021)

History

Purpose

  • • To create a community of scholars in LRA who are dedicated to the promotion and advancement of the study of the history of literacy.
  • • To provide a forum for the discussion of historiographic method as well as recent historical research as related to the field of literacy.
  • • To promote the scholarly study of the history of literacy in its varied forms in conjunction with organizations and scholars beyond LRA.
  • • To advocate that literacy professionals, both neophytes and more senior, should have a fundamental knowledge and healthy appreciation for the history of literacy and the literacy profession.

Members

Chair - 2015 - 2021
Norman Stahl

Northern Illinois University
flowercjs@aol.com

Co-Chair - 2017 - 2021
Dixie Massey

Seattle Pacific University
masseydixied@gmail.com

Co-Chair - 2017 - 2021
James R. King

University of South Florida
jking9@usf.edu

Liaison - 2018 - 2021
Ramon Martinez

Stanford University
ramon.martinez@stanford.edu

International Innovative Community Group

Purpose

  • • To increase awareness of international literacy, research, activities, and ideas.
  • • To encourage contacts and collaboration between LRA and its members and literacy organizations and individuals from other nations.
  • • To increase availability of information about LRA to international members.
  • • To encourage international membership and participation in LRA.

Term Information

The International ICG has a chair, and 2 co-chairs (first Co-chair and second Co-chair), with 3-year terms. The second co-chair organizes the application process for the travel award. The first Co-chair works with the Chair in the business of the ICG and takes over as Chair the following year.

Members

Chair - 2020 - 2023
Lina Trigos Carrillo

Universidad de La Sabana
lina.trigos@unisabana.edu.co

Liaison - 2020 - 2023
Patriann Smith

University of South Florida
psmith4@usf.edu

Co-Chair - 2018 - 2021
Bettina Buch

Syracuse
bbu@pha.dk

Co-Chair - 2019 - 2022
Raúl Mora

Literacies in Second Languages Project, Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana
raulmora@illinoisalumni.org

Committee Members: International ICG Steering Committee

Xiaoming Liu,
Towson University
XLiu@towson.edu

Jessica Rubin
University of Waikato
jrubin@waikato.ac.nz

Hitomi Kambara
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
hitomi.kambara@utrgv.edu

Ran Hu East
Carolina University
hur@ecu.edu

Lijun Jin
Towson University
ljin@towson.edu

Katina Zammit
Western Sydney University
k.zammit@westernsydney.edu.au

Committee Members: Former Chairs and Steering Committee, active members

Lori Assaf
Texas State University
lassaf@txstate.edu

Patience Sowa
RTI International
patiencesowa95@gmail.com

Chinwe Ikpeze
St. John Fisher College
chikpeze@gmail.com

Poonam Arya
Wayne State University
parya@wayne.edu

Carol Janish
Texas Technical University
Email N/A

Janet Gaffney
Janet Gaffney University of Auckland
janet.gaffney@auckland.ac.nz

Multilingual / Transnational ICG

Purpose

  • • To create a community of scholars interested in how people become literate in a second or additional languages.
  • • To increase awareness concerning the importance of dual and multi- language literacy in the U.S. and around the world among the membership of LRA.
  • • To encourage interaction and contacts with organizations and scholars outside of LRA involved in research and scholarship on dual and multi- language literacy.
  • • To advocate research-supported policies and instructional practices that promote multi-language literacies.

Members

Co-Chair - 2020 - 2022
Matthew Deroo

University of Miami
deroomat@miami.edu

Co-Chair - 2019 - 2021
Samuel David

University of Minnesota
ssdavid@umn.edu

Liaison - 2021 - 2022
Melanie Kuhn

Purdue University
melaniek@purdue.edu

Committee Members: Advocacy Working Group

Chris Chang-Bacon
University of Virginia
cb6wv@virginia.edu

Matthew Deroo
University of Miami
deroomat@miami.edu

Stephanie Lynne Abraham
Rowan University
abrahams@rowan.edu

Mariannella D.
Nuñez University of Minnesota
ssdavid@umn.edu

Committee Member: Mentoring Program Coordinator

Mandy Stewart
Mandy Stewart Texas Woman’s University
MStewart7@twu.edu

Reading Clinic/ Literacy Labs

Purpose

  • • To serve as a supportive, dialogic community of practitioner/researchers confronting problems, issues, and challenges faced across sites.
  • • To increase awareness of the many operational aspects of reading clinics/literacy labs, and provide assistance in fine-tuning administration and content.
  • • To provide a forum for discussion of current topics and a safe space to brainstorm solutions to problems and avenues for advocacy.
  • • To continually create a community of scholars who examine deep issues related to reading clinics/literacy labs, generate research questions, conduct collaborative research, and disseminate findings.
  • • Want information about or colleagues connected to Literacy Clinics, please contact us at RCLLICG@literacyresearchassociation.org

Members

Chair - 2017 - 2021
Barbara Laster

Towson University
blaster@towson.edu

Co-Chair
Leslie Cavendish

High Point University
lcavendi@highpoint.edu

Liaison - 2020 - 2021
Dana Robertson

Dana Robertson University of Wyoming
drober36@uwyo.edu