P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award​

History of the Award


The P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award was established in 2012.

P. David Pearson Donation Letter

P. David Pearson SIA Letter

P. David Pearson Endowment Fund Letter: Please contact LRA Headquarters for a copy of the Endowment Fund letter.

Purpose of the Award


The purpose of this annual award is to honor, in P. David Pearson’s name, the author(s) of an article/chapter/book written at least 5 years prior to the nomination, that has demonstrably and positively influenced/impacted literacy practices and/or policies within district, school and/or classroom settings.

Criteria for Consideration


Nominators should demonstrate how the findings or implications of the article/chapter/book have been used directly by educators to craft influential policies and/or initiate and implement innovative classroom practices.

Procedures for Nomination


Authors wishing to be considered for the P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award, or a person who wishes to nominate the author(s) of a piece of writing, will forward a letter of nomination outlining the case with supporting evidence (along with the key piece of writing, author CV’s and documentation of the influence of the piece on instruction and/or policy) to the Chair of the P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award Committee by September 5.

Review Process


The Chair will electronically send copies of the nomination letters and accompanying materials to Committee members. By September 15th, each Committee member shall receive one copy of each of the nomination sets submitted. Each Committee member will review and rank each of the nominations by November 5th. The Chair will notify the winner, Committee members, and the Executive Director by November 10th. Notification should occur no later than November 10th. The Executive Director needs to be informed by November 10th in order to prepare the award plaque and the award check.

Presentation of the Award


The P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award is presented at the Annual Conference. The award is presented by the Committee Chair or by a Committee member designated by the Chair. The P. David Pearson Award recipient will receive a plaque and a monetary award to be determined. The inscription on the plaque reads, “Literacy Research Association Presents the P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award to [recipients’ names] for a single contribution to research that has demonstrably and positively influenced literacy instruction and/or policy [year of award]”

Promotion of the Award


Information about the recipient(s) appears in the spring issue of the Newsletter along with information about eligibility and criteria for the award and a request for nominations. The award is promoted through regular announcements on the Web site, the Listserv, and the Newsletter. A reminder about the award and the application form will be sent via e-mail 2 days after the program acceptance notices are sent.

Award Committee


The P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award Committee consists of a Chair appointed by the Past President in consultation with the Board of Directors. The Chair serves a three-year term and may be reappointed at the discretion of the Past President. The Past President will appoint six members to the Committee in consultation with the Committee Chair. The six members of the Committee will each serve one three-year term, with two members going off the Committee, four members staying on the Committee, and two members being added to the Committee each year. The monetary award is drawn directly from the P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award Fund.

Award Committee

Annemarie Palincsar
Co-Chair, (2021-2024)

Miranda Fitzgerald


Co-Chair, (2021-2024)

Marjorie Rowe


Committee Member, (2023 – 2026)

Dana Robertson


Committee Member, (2023 – 2026)

Maria Selensa Portacio


Committee Member, (2022 – 2025)

Laura Teichert


Committee Member, (2022 – 2025)

Tanya Wright
Committee Member, (2021-2024)
John Strong
Committee Member, (2021-2024)
Jennifer Turner
Committee Member, (2021-2024)

Award Winners

Carol Booth Olson, Tina Matuchniak, Huy Q. Chung, Rachel Stumpf, George Farkas (2023)

Gay Ivey and Karen Broaddus (2022)

Marjorie Lipson  and Karen Wixson (2021)
Gail Boldt (2020)

Kevin Leander (2020)

Annemarie Sullivan Palincsar (2019)

Keith Stanovich (2018)

Cynthia Shanahan and Timothy Shanahan (2017)

Kathryn Hu-Pei, Jana M. Mason (2016)

Richard L. Allington, Sheila W. Valencia, Marsha Riddle-Buly (2015)

Nell Duke (2014)

Peter Johnston (2013)