LRA Area Chairs (Area Chair terms are for 3 years)

Area 1. Pre-service Teacher Education in Literacy

Jason Moore

Oakland University

jasonmoore@oakland.edu

2019 - 2022

Michelle Kwok

Arizona State University

michkwok@tamu.edu

2020 – 2023

Crystal Wise

University of Illinois at Chicago

cnwise@uic.edu

2020 – 2023

Kristine Schutz

UIC - College of Education

kschutz@uic.edu

2020 - 2023

Miranda Fitzgerald

University of North Carolina - Charlotte

mfitzg21@uncc.edu

2021 - 2024

Area 2. In-service Teacher Education/Professional Development in Literacy

Vicky McQuitty

Towson University

vmcquitty@towson.edu

2019 - 2022

Emily Hayden

Iowa State University

ehayden@iastate.edu

2019 - 2022

Pelusa Orellana

Universidad de los Andes

porellan@uandes.cl

2019 - 2022

Susan Browne

Rowan University

brownes@rowan.edu

2021 - 2024

Kristin Dara Hill

The University of Michigan-Dearborn

kirdara@umd.umich.edu

2021 - 2024

Area 3. Literacy Assessment, Learning, and Teaching

Zhihui Fang

University of Florida

zfang@coe.ufl.edu

2019 - 2022

Susan Piazza

Western Michigan

susan.piazza@wmich.edu

2019 - 2022

Mary Hoch

National Louis University

mary.hoch@nl.edu

2020 - 2023

Zoi A. Traga Philippakos

University of Tennessee Knoxville

zphilipp@utk.edu

2020 - 2023

Elena Forzani

Boston University

eforzani@bu.edu

2021 - 2024

Area 4. Public Engagement and Policy in Literacy

Kelly Puzio

Washington State University

kelly.puzio@wsu.edu

2019 - 2022

Ross Collin

Virginia Commonwealth University

rcollin@vcu.edu

2020 - 2023

Samuel Tanner

Penn State University

sjt20@psu.edu

2020 - 2023

John Strong

University at Buffalo

jstrong3@buffalo.edu

2020 - 2023

Area 5. Early and Elementary Literacy Processes

Celeste Bates

Clemson University

celestb@clemson.edu

2019 - 2022

Kathryn Roberts

Wayne State University

eo9096@wayne.edu

2019 - 2022

Rebecca Norman

Mount St. Mary College

rebecca.norman@msmc.edu

2020 - 2023

Anne Marie Alberton Gunn

University of South Florida

gunn@usf.edu

2020 - 2023

Margaret Vaughn

Washington State University

margaret.vaughn@wsu.edu

2021 - 2024

Area 6. Adolescent, College, and Adult Literacy Processes

Phillip Wilder

Clemson University

pwilder@clemson.edu

2019 - 2021

Saba Vlach

University of Iowa

saba-vlach@uiowa.edu

2020 - 2023

Jennifer Theriault

Northern Illinois University

jtheriault@niu.edu

2020 - 2023

Susan Groenke

University of Tennessee

sgroenke@utk.edu

2020 - 2023

Area 7. Critical, Cultural, and Social Issues of Literacy Practices In and Out of School

Grace Enriquez

Lesley University

genrique@lesley.edu

2019 - 2022

Christina Dobbs

Boston University

cdobbs@bu.edu

2019 - 2022

Susan Bennett

University of South Florida St. Petersburg

sbennet3@usf.edu

2020 - 2023

Mandy Stewart

Texas Woman’s University

mstewart7@twu.edu

2020 - 2023

Area 8. Literacy Learning and Practice in Multicultural and Multilingual Settings

Huili Hong

Towson University

hilary0504@gmail.com

2019 - 2022

P. Zitlali Morales

University of Illinois at Chicago

zitlali@uic.edu

2019 - 2022

Maria Selena Protacio

Western Michigan University

selena.protacio@gmail.com

2019 - 2022

Claudia Rodriguez-Mojica

Santa Clara University

crodriguezmojica@scu.edu

2020 - 2023

Kongji Qin

New York University

kongji.qin@nyu.edu

2020 - 2023

Area 9. Text Analysis/Adult, Children’s, and Young Adult Literature

Mark Lewis

James Madison University

lewis6ma@jmu.edu

2018 - 2024

Lisa Domke

Georgia State University

ldomke@gsu.edu

2019 - 2022

Stergios Botzakis

University of Tennessee

sbotzaki@utk.edu

2020 - 2023

Area 10. Literacy Media and Technology

Beth Beschorner

Minnesota State University-Manakato

elizabeth.beschorner@mnsu.edu

2019 - 2022

Becky Beucher

Illinois State University

rlbeuch@ilstu.edu

2020 - 2023

Blaine Smith

University of Arizona

blainesmith@arizona.edu

2020 - 2023

Laurie Thrailkill

East Carolina University

thrailkilll19@ecu.edu

2020 - 2023

Area 11. Research Methods, Practices, and Theory

Jamie Colwell

Old Dominion University

jcolwell@odu.edu

2019 - 2021

Seth Parsons

George Mason University

sparson5@gmu.edu

2020 - 2023

Lucy Spence

University of South Carolina

lucyspence@sc.edu

2020 - 2023

Amelie Lemieux

University of Montreal

amelie.lemieux.1@umontreal.ca

2020 - 2023

Area 12. International Research on Literacy Learning and Teaching

Claudia Finkbeiner

University of Kassel-Germany

cfink@uni-kassel.de

2019 - 2022

Jiening Ruan

University of Oklahoma

jruan@ou.edu

2020 - 2023

Zaline Roy-Campbell

Syracuse University

zmroycam@syr.edu

2020 - 2023

Mia Perry

University of Glasgow

mia.perry@glasgow.ac.uk

2021 - 2024

Area 13. Study Groups

Aaron Johnson

Farmington Public School

samdj9265@gmail.com

2019 - 2022

Rebecca Woodard

University of Illinois-Chicago

rwoodard@uic.edu

2020 - 2023

Tori K. Flint

University of Louisiana-Lafayette

Tori.flint@louisiana.edu

2021 - 2024

Area 14. Other Topics

Kisha Bryan

Tennessee State University

kbryan@tnstate.edu

2019 - 2022

Marla Robertson

Utah State University

mkrobertson2009@gmail.com

2021 - 2024

Emily Rodgers

The Ohio State University

rodgers.42@osu.edu

2021 - 2024