Edward B. Fry Book Award Call for Nominations

The purpose of the Edward B. Fry Book Award is to recognize LRA members who author a book on literacy research and practice. The award was established by Edward B. Fry who contributed a fund to support it. The first award was presented in 1995. An award seal was designed and used for the first time in 2000.


Eligibility for the award is limited to current members of LRA who have written or been one of several authors of a book. The book must have a copyright date within 5 years of the date when the award is made. The book that receives the award will:
• Advance knowledge about literacy
• Display inquiry into literacy
• Show responsible intellectual risk-taking


Letters of nomination and a copy of the nominated book must be sent to the Committee Chair by or before June 20, 2022.

Nomination letters must directly address the ways in which the nominated book meets the criteria outlined above. Letters cannot simply reiterate the endorsements or summaries designed to promote the text. Self-nominations are accepted. A book may be re-nominated if it has been previously nominated but did not win the award. Please submit nomination letters to Grace Enriquez (genrique@lesley.edu) by June 20, 2022.


The Edward B. Fry Book Award is presented at the annual conference. The author receives a plaque and a monetary award. The monetary award will be in the amount of 5% of the principal in the Fund. If there is more than one author, the amount will be distributed equally among co-authors.

For more information, go to https://www.literacyresearchassociation.org/edward-b-fry- book-award.



Recent Post

Sorry, no posts were found.

Email Newsletter