Widening the Angles of Literacy Research: Honoring
Untold Stories Using Contrapuntal Approaches

Committees

Ethics
Ethnicity, Race and
Multilingualism
Field Council
Gender and
Sexualities
Policy and
Legislative
Publications
Research
Technology and
Digital
Communications

Ethics Committee

Committee Chair

Haeny Yoon (2019 - 2022)
Columbia University,
yoon3@tc.columbia.edu

Committee Members

Marcella Kehus
marcella.kehus@utoledo.edu

Committee Member
2018 - 2021

Jen Scott Curwood
js.curwood@sydney.edu.au

Committee Member
2018 - 2021

Korina Jocson
kjocson@umass.edu

Committee Member
2018 - 2021

Ted Kesler
theodore.kesler@qc.cuny.edu

Committee Member
2019 - 2022

Karen Spector
kspector@bamaed.ua.edu

Committee Member
2019 - 2022

Grace Player
theodore.kesler@qc.cuny.edu

Committee Member
2020 - 2023

Standing Committee Support

Ramon Martinez (2020 - 2023)
Stanford University
ramon.martinez@stanford.edu

Purpose

  • • To educate and provide guidance to LRA members and to those with whom they interact about the ethical principles as outlined in the Ethics Statement.
  • • To serve as a resource to the membership regarding ethical issues arising in aspects of their research.
  • • The goal of the ICG will be to encourage the active participation of doctoral students in the Literacy Research Association
  • • To assist and advise the Executive Committee and Board of Directors in addressing ethical issues. To facilitate and encourage discussion of ethical issues among the LRA community.
  • •
    Informing the membership of the organization’s Ethics Statement, such as a symposium at the Annual Conference on ethical issues relevant to the practice of literacy research and/or a newsletter column
  • •
    To find and implement a variety of opportunities for the LRA membership to raise, discuss, consider, and, if desired, respond to general ethical issues currently arising in relation to literacy research and/or education.
  • •
    Undertaking periodic reviews of the Ethics Statement to ensure that it addresses the ethical issues that arise in the changing context of literacy research.

Ethnicity, Race and Multilingualism

Committee Chair

Bogum Yoon (2018 - 2021)
State University of New York at Binghamton
byoon@binghamton.edu

Committee Chair

Cynthia Reyes
creyes@uvm.edu

Committee Member
2020-2023

Mary Amanda (Mandy) Stewart
mstewart7@twu.edu

Committee Member
2020-2023

Tiffany Flowers
tflowers@gsu.edu

Committee Member
2018-2021

Carol Brochin
cbrochin@email.arizona.edu

Committee Member
2018-2021

Kwangok Song
ksong@ku.edu

Committee Member
2019-2022

Allison Briceno
abriceno@gmail.com

Committee Member
2019-2022

Standing Committee Support

Liaison - 2021 - 2022
Melanie Kuhn

Purdue University
melaniek@purdue.edu

Purpose

  • • The Ethnicity, Race, and Multilingualism Committee has four main objectives:
  • • To increase awareness and knowledge of members about issues of diversity and equity in literacy research and education.
  • • To promote an interest in conducting or supporting literacy research aimed at improving educational opportunities, access, achievement, and empowerment of students of diverse, cultural, linguistic, and socioeconomic backgrounds.
  • • To increase the participation of scholars of diverse cultural backgrounds in LRA as members, Annual Conference presenters, Committee members, and officers.\
  • • To assist and advise the Board of Directors in monitoring LRA’s progress in meeting goals of equity.

Field Council

Committee Chair

Alice Lee (2020 - 2023)
University of California, Riverside
alice.lee@ucr.edu

Committee Members

Christopher Wagner
Queens College
cwagner@qc.cuny.edu
Northeast Region, (2021-2023)

Kongji Qin
NYU
kongji.qin@nyu.edu
Northeast Region, (2021-2023)

Joanne Marciano
marcian2@msu.edu
Midwest Region (2020-2023)

Emily Hayden
ehayden@iastate.edu
Midwest Region (2020-2023)

Lindsey Moses
lmoses1@asu.edu
West Region (2020-2023)

Mary Kallus
mary.kallus@enmu.edu
West Region (2018-2021)

Rahat Zaidis
rahat.zaidi@ucalgary.ca
International (2020-2023)

Rebecca Jesson
r.jesson@auckland.ac.nz
International (2020-2023)

Amy Broemmel
broemmel@utk.edu
South Region (2016-2022)

Lesley Cavendish
lcavendi@highpoint.edu
South Region (2019-2022)

Kisha Bryan
kbryan@tnstate.edu
Tennessee State University
Historically Black Colleges &
Universities (HBCU)
Co-Chair (2020-2023)

Gilberto Lara
gilberto.lara@utsa.edu
University of Texas at San Antonio
Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSI)
Co-Chair (2020-2023)

Standing Committee Support

Patriann Smith
(2020 - 2023)
University of South Florida

psmith4@usf.edu

Purpose

  • • The LRA Field Council shall serve as an advisory council to the LRA President and Board of Directors regarding the work of the Literacy Research Association.
  • • Every year the Field Council Representatives in each state/province/country should contact faculty at colleges and universities within their assigned areas to encourage the acquisition, renewal, or maintenance of subscriptions to the LRA Yearbook and the Journal of Literacy Research.
  • • Field Council members are encouraged to arrange co-sponsored meetings at state and regional meetings of other literacy organizations with the understanding that LRA does not guarantee program slots at the annual LRA meeting for co-sponsoring organizations. Co-sponsoring organizations are invited to submit program proposals for consideration under the regulations of the LRA Call for Proposals.

Gender and Sexualities

Committee Chair

Craig Young (2018 - 2021)
Bloomsburg University of PA
cyoung@bloomu.edu

Committee Members

Kisha Bryan
kbryan@tnstate.edu
Co-Chair (2018-2021)

Nicholas Husbye
husbye@uwm.edu
Committee Member (2018 - 2021)

Chad Waldron
chadwald@umflint.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Ah-Young Song
asong@vassar.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Corrine Wickens
ccwickens@niu.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Kate Kedley
kedley@rowan.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Standing Committee Support

Dana Robertson (2020 - 2021)
Virginia Tech University
rdana@vt.edu

Purpose

  • • To promote and encourage literacy research that highlights perspectives around gender and sexualities, especially as those identities intersect with race, class, language, nationality, religion, age, ability, and culture.
  • • To increase awareness, access to information, and collaboration among a diverse network of scholars that supports LGBTQ individuals and counters homophobia and heteronormativity in LRA, schools, and communities.
  • • To advocate for LGBTQ youth, families, and educators in and out of schools through policies, curricula, and instructional practices that include and support gender and sexual diversities.
  • • To encourage interaction and engagement with organizations and scholars involved in outreach, advocacy, and/or research related to gender and sexual identities in various local and global contexts.

Policy and Legislative

Committee Chair

Danielle Dennis (2019 - 2022)
University of Rhode Island
danielle_dennis@uri.edu

Committee Members

Renee Rice Moran
rricemor@utk.edu
Committee Member (2018 - 2021)

Leah Saal
lksaal@loyola.edu
Committee Member (2018 - 2021)

Andrew Huddleston
andrew.huddleston@acu.edu
Committee Member (2019 -2022)

Kristin Gehsmann
gehsmannk18@ecu.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Monica Yoo
myoo@uccs.edu
Committee Member, (2020 - 2023)

Marcus Croom
mcroom@iu.edu
Committee Member, (2020 - 2023)

Standing Committee Support

Virginia Goatley (2020 - 2023)
University at Albany SUNY
vgoatley@albany.edu

Purpose

The Policy and Legislative Committee is charged with keeping the LRA membership informed about policy issues and to support the organization in policy and legislative activities. The committee has multiple objectives including: identifying policy expertise and concerns within the LRA community, reviewing policy concerns and sharing concerns with the Board, and collaborating with the Board in the development of policy-related documents such as Endorsements, Resolutions, and Policy Briefs. In addition, the committee is expected to provide members with strategies for addressing policy issues at local, state, and national levels and to serve as a liaison with other organizations (e.g., ILA, NCTE, AERA) regarding policy issues. LRA Members who wish become involved in the work of the P&L committee, who would like to develop a policy brief, or who would like to request that LRA endorse a particular policy or respond to a particular issue should contact the P&L committee chair. More information about the committee, its objectives, and procedures for the development and dissemination of policy documents can be found in the Policy and Procedures Handbook.

Policy and Advocacy Statements and Resources

Publications

Committee Chair

Kristen Perry (2019 - 2022)
University of Kentucky
kristen.perry@uky.edu

Committee Members

George Hruby
george.hruby@uky.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2021)

Melissa Mosley Wetzel
lmmwetzel@utexas.edu
Committee Member (2018 - 2021)

Ana Taboada Barber
ataboada@umd.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Bong Gee Jang
bojang@syr.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Melody Zoch
mzoch@uncg.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Vaughn Watson
watsonv2@msu.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Standing Committee Support

Cynthia Brock (2020 - 2023)
University of Wyoming
cynthia.brock@uwyo.edu

Purpose

  • • The purpose of the Publications Committee is to oversee the publications of LRA

Resources

Journal of Literacy Research (JLR)
Literacy Research: Theory, Method, and Practice
Style Guide LR:TMP 2016
Conference Video
Conference Archives
Yearbook Archives

To access the Journals, users must register their email with SAGE at https://journals.sagepub.com/action/registration and then activate their Member ID. After registering and verifying their email, sign in at http://journals.sagepub.com and then click on My Tools, My Account, Society Member Access. Choose LRA from drop down menu, put in ID and hit activate.

Research

Committee Chair

Seth Parsons (2020 - 2022)
George Mason University
sparson5@gmu.edu

Committee Members

Amy Wilson Lope
amyawilson@msn.com
Committee Member (2018 - 2021)

Lina Trigos-Carrillo
linatrigos@gmail.com
Committee Member (2018 - 2021)

Ashley Patterson
anp5404@psu.edu
Committee Member (2019- 2022)

Darrell Hucks
dhucks@keene.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Erin Quast
eaquast@ilstu.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Jon Wargo
wargoj@bc.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Idalia Nunez-Cortez
idalian@illinois.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Tran Templeton
tran.templeton@unt.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Standing Committee Support

Mary McVee (2020 - 2023)
University of Buffalo
mcvee@buffalo.edu

Purpose

The purpose of the LRA Research Committee is to monitor and increase awareness of relevant trends in literacy and related research, as well as the overall status of research in the field and within LRA (e.g. citation rates, funding for literacy research). The committee is also responsible for monitoring opportunities for funded research related to literacy and promoting and facilitating efforts to seek available funding. The committee encourage and promotes the conduct and broad dissemination of ethical literacy research without undo restrictions, commercialization, and conflict of interest, including the dissemination of literacy research online. Finally, the committee serves as a resource to the Board of Directors and to Committees in matters pertaining to literacy research, and consults with the Annual Conference Committee Chair about issues related to research.

Purpose

Additional Resources

Voice of Literacy and CITE-ITEL

Technology and Digital Communications

Committee Chair

Amy Hutchison (2018 - 2021)
George Mason University
ahutchi9@gmu.edu

Committee Members

James S. Chisolm
james.chisholm@louisville.edu
Committee Member (2018 - 2021)

Lindsay Woodward
lindsay.woodward@drake.edu
Committee Member (2021 - 2021)

Rohit Mehta
mehta@csufresno.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Jill Castek
jcastek@email.arizona.edu
Committee Member (2019 - 2022)

Earl Aguilera
eaguilera@csufresno.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Paty Abril-Gonzalez
abrilgon@austin.utexas.edu
Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Standing Committee Support

Detra Price Dennis (2020 - 2023)
Teachers College, Columbia University
dmp2192@tc.columbia.edu

Purpose

The Technology Committee, because of the rapid expansion of our field, has a constantly evolving charge. At present, the purpose of the Committee is to:

  • • Explore and implement means by which technology can benefit LRA
  • • Explore ethical issues related to technology
  • • Explore issues of technology as text and issues of technology and paradigms
  • • Recommend technology-related policy to the Board of Directors, particularly with respect to the Listserv and Web site
  • • Provide leadership for Web site development and continual update of the Web site
  • • Organize the recording and subsequent posting to the Web site each plenary address at the Annual Conference