Accepting Nominations for the 2022 Brian Street Award

Please consider nominating yourself or someone else for the Brian Street Memorial Award.


Brian Street was a British anthropologist whose scholarship helped establish the social turn in literacy research. A core theme of Street’s scholarship was recognizing the dignity and integrity of all people and their uses of written language as they navigated the social, cultural, economic, and political structures of their lives.


The Award was established in 2017 to recognize the contributions Street made to the field of Literacy Studies.


The Brian Street Memorial Award for Scholarship Bridging Anthropology, Education & Literacy Practices is now accepting nominations


The award provides financial support of $1000 to enable the participation at the Literacy Research Association annual conference of a scholar (or scholars) whose scholarship bridges anthropology, education, and literacy practices.


Preference will be given for junior scholars, doctoral students, and others who would otherwise not be able to attend the LRA conference. Preference will also be given for nominees from outside the United States (particularly from those areas in which Brian conducted research)


How to apply

Nomination materials should include:

  1. The paper proposal (or the specific presentation part of a symposium proposal) submitted to the LRA annual conference;
  2. A letter (600-word maximum) from either the nominee or from the person making the nomination describing:
    (a). The quality of the research being reported, including the quality of the ethnographic methods employed;
    (b). The contribution of the research to the field of literacy studies;
    (c). How the scholarship to be presented brings together anthropology, literacy studies, and education together.
  3. A letter of recommendation (600-word maximum) from someone familiar with the nominee’s scholarship describing the quality of the nominee’s program of research and how the scholarship to be presented brings together anthropology, literacy studies, and education.

All materials and questions should be directed to the award committee chair, Michiko Hikida.


For more information on the history of the award the criteria for consideration, please visit this web page.